In accordance with the Governor’s Proclamation 20-25, “Stay Home, Stay Healthy,” and to protect the health and safety of Washingtonians and our employees, at this time, there is restricted public access to the OSPI building. OSPI will continue serving the public via phone, email, and the website.

See OSPI’s COVID-19 guidance and resources for educators, students, and families.

  • Facebook
  • OSPI on Twitter
  • OSPI Medium
  • OSPI LinkedIn
  • OSPI YouTube
  • OSPI on Flickr
  • Subscribe to OSPI GovDelivery

You are here

Home » Student Success » Resources by Subject Area » World Languages » World Languages K-12 Learning Standards

World Languages K-12 Learning Standards

Contact Information

World Languages

Veronica Trapani
World Languages Program Supervisor

The state's World Languages K-12 Learning Standards describe what students should be able to do with the language as they develop proficiency.

The state learning standards are adopted from the national Standards for Foreign Language Learning in the 21st Century, as published by the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL).

Download Standards

World Languages K-12 Learning Standards (2015)

The Grade Level Standards & Resources Web site provides quick access to all content standards along with aligned resources to support curriculum development, instructional practices, and assessment of student learning. Choose "World Languages" from the homepage menu.

Supporting Resources

Career and College Goals in Washington with World Language Correlations

Standards Order Form
Every school should consider ordering a copy of the complete Standards for Foreign Language Learning in the 21st Century book for the world languages department. The book provides background on the standards and language study in the United States, along with specific sections for these languages: Arabic, Chinese, Classical Languages, French (K-16), German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

Linking World Languages to Common Core State Standards

The four strands of the Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts (ELA) and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects (Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening, and Language) have been aligned to the National Standards for Learning Languages by the American Council for the Teaching of Foreign Languages. There are also efforts to translate the Common Core State Standards into other languages, in particular, for use in Dual Immersion type programs. For example, see Common Core Translation Project.

In November 2013, ACTFL unveiled refreshed standards for learning languages that incorporate the Common Core State Standards. View the World-Readiness Standards for Learning Languages summary available for download on the ACTFL World-Readiness Standards for Language Learning page.