• Facebook
  • OSPI on Twitter
  • OSPI Medium
  • OSPI LinkedIn
  • OSPI YouTube
  • OSPI on Flickr
  • Subscribe to OSPI GovDelivery

You are here

Home » Educator Support » Awards & Recognition » Educator Awards » History Teacher of the Year

History Teacher of the Year

The National History Teacher of the Year award honors great American history teachers from across the country. Washington selects one state finalist annually as Washington’s History Teacher of the Year. State finalists complete for the national award.

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, HISTORY (The History Channel) and Preserve America sponsor the national program.

How do I nominate a teacher?

Administrators, colleagues, parents and students nominate online. Self nominations are not allowed.

The National History Teacher of the Year alternates between elementary (K-6) and secondary (7-12) each year. The 2016 National History Teacher of the Year will be a secondary teacher.

How is the History Teacher of the Year selected?

Nominees submit supporting materials including essays, letters of recommendation, a resume and a sample lesson plan.

A statewide committee reviews the supporting materials and recommends one teacher to the national program each spring. The National History Teacher of the Year is typically announced each fall.

How is the Washington's History Teacher of the Year honored?

  • A $1,000 award from Gilder Lehrman.
  • An invitation to the annual Governor’s Reception for Exceptional Educators.
  • An opportunity to compete for the national award.
  • His/her school receives an archive of primary historical materials named in honor of the teacher.

Please visit the Gilder-Lehrman Web site or contact Social Studies Program Supervisor Carol Coe for more information.

Past Award Winners

2015 Award Winner: No nominations were received.

2014 Award Winner:
Ed Bergh, Yelm High School, Yelm School District

2013 Award Winner:
Amy Johnson, Cascade Middle School, Longview School District

2012 Award Winner:
Steven Lawrence, Meridian High School, Bellingham School District

2011 Award Winner:
Karen Morley-Smith, Sunset Elementary School, Evergreen School District

2010 Award Winner:
Doug Perry, Gig Harbor High School, Peninsula School District

2009 Award Winner:
Jason A. Eng, Mt. Stuart Elementary, Ellensburg

2008 Award Winner:
Mary Elizabeth Gottschalk, Assumption Catholic School, Bellingham

2007 Award Winner:
Paula Cautrell, Sunrise Elementary School, Redmond

2006 Award Winner:
Tricia Jenden Billes, Sequim Middle School, Sequim

2005 Award Winner:
Jim Sawatzki, Bethel High School, Spanaway

2004 Award Winner:
Marshall Mah, Mount Spokane High School, Mead