• Facebook
  • OSPI on Twitter
  • OSPI Medium
  • OSPI LinkedIn
  • OSPI YouTube
  • OSPI on Flickr
  • Subscribe to OSPI GovDelivery

You are here

Home » Student Success » Resources by Subject Area » Social Studies » Social Studies Cadre of Educators

Social Studies Cadre of Educators

ESD Map

Contact Information

Social Studies

Jerry Price
360-725-6351

The Social Studies Cadre, established in 2010, consists of 35-40 educators (a minimum of three per ESD) who have both teaching experience and expertise in social studies education. The Cadre serves as a social studies teaching and advisory team for the state.

Philosophical Foundation

The Washington State Social Studies Cadre believes in the power of social studies to enrich student learning across disciplines and inspire lifelong civic-mindedness.

Purpose and Practices

The Cadre reviews and revises social studies resources and materials, specifically focusing on:

  • Washington State Social Studies Learning Standards: the Essential Academic Learning Requirements (EALRs) and Grade Level Expectations (GLEs);
  • OSPI-Developed Assessments (also known as Classroom-Based Assessments); and
  • College, Career, and Civic Life (C3) Framework and Six Proven Practices for Enhancing Civic Education.

The Cadre delivers workshops at statewide conferences and through local or regional trainings for teachers that specifically target:

  • Washington State K-12 Social Studies Learning Standards;
  • OSPI-Developed Assessments; and
  • College, Career, and Civic Life (C3) Framework and Six Proven Practices for Enhancing Civic Education.

Note: OSPI does not compensate Cadre members for trainings other than those arranged by OSPI for statewide professional development. If Cadre members receive training requests from individual school districts or from regional partners, it is the responsibility of Cadre members and their schools or districts to negotiate these requests. If ESDs or individual districts request training support from Cadre members, they will be expected to negotiate compensation of the Cadre member for expenses such as preparation time, substitute coverage, mileage, meals, lodging, and materials costs.

District Name/Title School Level ESD Contact Info
Bainbridge Island Amanda Ward High 121 206-780-1280
amward@bisd303.org
Bellevue Tara Gray
Principal
K-12 121 425-456-6500
grayt@bsd405.org
Central Valley Eric Roal Middle 101 509-558-4700
eroal@cvsd.org
Everett Melissa Webster High 189 425-385-6177
mwebster@everettsd.org
Evergreen (Clark) Ryan Theodoriches
Central Office
K-12 112 360-604-4089
ryan.theodoriches@evergreenps.org
Ferndale Chris Perkins High 189 360-383-9289
christopher.perkins@ferndalesd.org
Longview Amy Johnson Middle 112 360-577-2700
ajohnson@longview.k12.wa.us
Marysville Steven Cross K-12 189 360-965-2420
steven_cross@msd25.org
Mead Trish Henry
K-12 EdTech and Media Specialist
K-12 101 509-465-6016
trish.henry@mead354.org
Medical Lake Katharine Smith Elementary 101 509-565-3611
ksmith@mlsd.org
Mount Baker John Mumma Elementary 189 360-383-2050
JMumma@mtbaker.wednet.edu
Mukilteo Sue Metzler High 189 425-366-5700
metzlersm@mukilteo.wednet.edu
North Kitsap Meghan Rubman High 114 360-394-8549
mrubman@nkschools.org
North Thurston Public Schools Mary Ziegert Elementary 113 360-412-4670
mziegert@nthurston.k12.wa.us
Ocean Beach Kelly Jacobsen Middle 112 360-642-1234
kelly.jacobsen@oceanbeachschools.org
Peninsula Barbara Vukas Middle 114 253-530-1900
vukasb@psd401.net
Pullman Amy Ripley Middle 101 425-346-2196
aripley@psd267.org
Puyallup Ronald Baltazar Middle 121 253-841-8756
baltazra@puyallup.k12.wa.us
Quincy Jonathan Barker Middle 171 509-787-4435
jbarker@qsd.wednet.edu
Richland Steven Perez High 123 509-967-6501
steve.perez@rsd.edu
Rochester Eric Holmkvist High 113 360-273-5534
eholmkvist@rochester.wednet.edu
Selah Bryan Dibble High 105 509-698-8350
bryandibble@selahschools.org
Selkirk Beth Dunbar High 101 509-446-3505
bdunbar@selkirkschools.org
Sequim Nathalie Maynock Elementary 114 360-582-3300
nmaynock@sequimschools.org
Shelton Elizabeth Johnston Middle 113 360-462-6671
ejohnston@sheltonschools.org
Stevenson-Carson Suz Clark-Bennett
Associate Principal
K-12 112 509-427-5631 x1710
clark-bennetts@scsd303.org
Sumner Nancy Lenihan Elementary 121 253-891-4500
nancy_lenihan@sumnersd.org
Tonasket Julie Conkle Elementary 171 509-486-4933
jconkle@tonasket.wednet.edu
Vancouver Mary Schuldheisz Elementary 112 360-313-3000
mschuldheisz@cu-portland.edu
Walla Walla Public Schools William Plucker High 123 509-527-3020
bplucker@wwps.org
Walla Walla Public Schools Brad Ludwig Middle 123 509-527-3050
bludwig@wwps.org
Walla Walla Public Schools Donnetta Elsasser High 123 509-526-2052
delsasser@wwps.org
Walla Walla Public Schools Jean Tobin Elementary 123 509-527-3077
jtobin@wwps.org
Yakima Debbie Blodgett-Goins Elementary 105 509-985-8462
blodgett-goins.debbie@yakimaschools.org
Yakima Katie Heary Elementary 105 509-573-5900
heary.katie@yakimaschools.org
Yelm Jerry Price Middle 113 360-458-1100
jerry_price@ycs.wednet.edu