RESTRICTED PUBLIC ACCESS TO OSPI BUILDING

In accordance with the Governor’s Proclamation 20-25, “Stay Home, Stay Healthy,” and to protect the health and safety of Washingtonians and our employees, at this time, there is restricted public access to the OSPI building. OSPI will continue serving the public via phone, email, and the website.

See OSPI’s COVID-19 guidance and resources for educators, students, and families.

  • Facebook
  • OSPI on Twitter
  • OSPI Medium
  • OSPI LinkedIn
  • OSPI YouTube
  • OSPI on Flickr
  • Subscribe to OSPI GovDelivery

You are here

Home » Student Success » Resources by Subject Area » Social Studies » Social Studies Cadre of Educators

Social Studies Cadre of Educators

ESD Map

Contact Information

Social Studies

Jerry Price
360-725-6351

The Social Studies Cadre, established in 2010, consists of 35-40 educators (a minimum of three per ESD) who have both teaching experience and expertise in social studies education. The Cadre serves as a social studies teaching and advisory team for the state.

Philosophical Foundation

The Washington State Social Studies Cadre believes in the power of social studies to enrich student learning across disciplines and inspire lifelong civic-mindedness.

Purpose & Practices

The Cadre reviews and revises social studies resources and materials, specifically focusing on:

The Cadre delivers workshops at statewide conferences and through local or regional trainings for teachers that specifically target:

Note: OSPI does not compensate Cadre members for trainings other than those arranged by OSPI for statewide professional development. If Cadre members receive training requests from individual school districts or from regional partners, it is the responsibility of Cadre members and their schools or districts to negotiate these requests. If ESDs or individual districts request training support from Cadre members, they will be expected to negotiate compensation of the Cadre member for expenses such as preparation time, substitute coverage, mileage, meals, lodging, and materials costs.

District Name/Title School Level ESD Contact Info
Bellevue Tara Gray
Principal
K-12 121 425-456-6500
grayt@bsd405.org
Edmonds Barbara Bromley Elementary 189 bromleyb933@edmonds.wednet.edu
Everett Melissa Webster High 189 425-385-6177
mwebster@everettsd.org
Evergreen (Clark) Ryan Theodoriches
Central Office
K-12 112 360-604-4067
ryan.theodoriches@evergreenps.org
Federal Way Mary Schuldheisz
Private Schools
K-12 503-703-6675
mschuldheisz@stlukes-church.com
Ferndale Chris Perkins High 189 360-383-9289
christopher.perkins@ferndalesd.org
Longview Amy Johnson Middle 112 360-577-2700
ajohnson@longview.k12.wa.us
Mead Trish Henry
K-12 EdTech and Media Specialist
K-12 101 509-465-6016
trish.henry@mead354.org
Mead Amy Staggs Middle 101 509-465-7400
amy.staggs@mead354.org
Medical Lake Katharine Smith Elementary 101 509-565-3611
ksmith@mlsd.org
Mukilteo Sue Metzler K-12 189 425-366-5700
metzlersm@mukilteo.wednet.edu
Oak Harbor Don Jenkins Middle 189 360-279-5528
djenkins@ohsd.net
Ocean Beach Kelly Jacobsen Middle 112 360-642-1234
kelly.jacobsen@oceanbeachschools.org
Olympia Deidre Pleasant High 113 310-968-9933
dpleasant@nthurston.k12.wa.us
Olympia Joshua Parker K-12 113 360-412-4411
jparker1@nthurston.k12.wa.us
Quillayute Valley Jody Quitadamo
Virtual Schools
K-12 866-800-0017
joquitadamo@k12insightwa.org
Rochester Eric Holmkvist Middle 113 360-273-5534
eholmkvist@rochester.wednet.edu
Selah Bryan Dibble K-12 105 509-698-8350
bryandibble@selahschools.org
Sequim Nathalie Maynock Elementary 114 360-582-3300
nmaynock@sequimschools.org
Spokane Mara Bischoff High 101 509-354-6102
marab@spokaneschools.org
Sumner Nancy Lenihan Elementary 121 253-891-4500
nancy_lenihan@sumnersd.org
Tonasket Julie Conkle Elementary 171 509-486-4933
jconkle@tonasket.wednet.edu
Vancouver Jeffrey Brick High 112 360-604-3700
jeffrey.brick@evergreenps.org
Walla Walla Public Schools Brad Ludwig Middle 123 509-527-3050
bludwig@wwps.org
Walla Walla Public Schools Donnetta Elsasser K-12 123 509-526-2052
delsasser@wwps.org
Walla Walla Public Schools William Plucker High 123 509-527-3020
bplucker@wwps.org
Wapato Julie Byers Middle 105 509-877-2173
julieb@wapatosd.org
Wenatchee Brandon Harle High 171 509-663-8117
harle.b@wenatcheeschools.org
Yakima William Frazier High 105 509-573-2571
frazier.william@ysd7.org
Yakima Katie Heary Elementary 105 509-573-5900
hearyk@wvsd208.org