• Facebook
  • OSPI on Twitter
  • OSPI Medium
  • OSPI LinkedIn
  • OSPI YouTube
  • OSPI on Flickr
  • Subscribe to OSPI GovDelivery

You are here

Home » Student Success » Resources by Subject Area » Social Studies » Social Studies Cadre of Educators

Social Studies Cadre of Educators

The Social Studies Cadre, established in 2010, consists of 35-40 educators (a minimum of three per ESD) who have both teaching experience and expertise in social studies education. The Cadre serves as a social studies teaching and advisory team for the state.

Philosophical Foundation

The Washington State Social Studies Cadre believes in the power of social studies to enrich student learning across disciplines and inspire lifelong civic-mindedness.

Purpose and Practices

The Cadre reviews and revises social studies resources and materials, specifically focusing on:

  • Washington State Social Studies Learning Standards: the Essential Academic Learning Requirements (EALRs) and Grade Level Expectations (GLEs);
  • OSPI-Developed Assessments (also known as Classroom-Based Assessments); and
  • College, Career, and Civic Life (C3) Framework and Six Proven Practices for Enhancing Civic Education.

The Cadre delivers workshops at statewide conferences and through local or regional trainings for teachers that specifically target:

  • Washington State K-12 Social Studies Learning Standards;
  • OSPI-Developed Assessments; and
  • College, Career, and Civic Life (C3) Framework and Six Proven Practices for Enhancing Civic Education.

Note: OSPI does not compensate Cadre members for trainings other than those arranged by OSPI for statewide professional development. If Cadre members receive training requests from individual school districts or from regional partners, it is the responsibility of Cadre members and their schools or districts to negotiate these requests. If ESDs or individual districts request training support from Cadre members, they will be expected to negotiate compensation of the Cadre member for expenses such as preparation time, substitute coverage, mileage, meals, lodging, and materials costs.

Elementary School

District Name/Title Contact Info
Tonasket Julie Conkle
509-486-4933
jconkle@tonasket.wednet.edu
Medical Lake Katharine Smith
509-565-3611
ksmith@mlsd.org
Sumner Nancy Lenihan
253-891-4500
nancy_lenihan@sumnersd.org
Mount Baker John Mumma
360-383-2050
JMumma@mtbaker.wednet.edu
North Thurston Public Schools Mary Ziegert
360-412-4670
mziegert@nthurston.k12.wa.us
Yakima Debbie Blodgett-Goins
509-985-8462
blodgett-goins.debbie@yakimaschools.org
Yakima Katie Heary
509-573-5900
heary.katie@yakimaschools.org
Sequim Nathalie Maynock
360-582-3300
nmaynock@sequimschools.org
Walla Walla Public Schools Jean Tobin
509-527-3077
jtobin@wwps.org
Vancouver Mary Schuldheisz
360-313-3000
mschuldheisz@cu-portland.edu

High School

District Name/Title Contact Info
Rochester Eric Holmkvist
360-273-5534
eholmkvist@rochester.wednet.edu
Ferndale Chris Perkins
360-383-9289
christopher.perkins@ferndalesd.org
Selah Bryan Dibble
509-698-8350
bryandibble@selahschools.org
Everett Melissa Webster
425-385-6177
mwebster@everettsd.org
North Kitsap Meghan Rubman
360-394-8549
mrubman@nkschools.org
Mukilteo Sue Metzler
425-366-5700
metzlersm@mukilteo.wednet.edu
Walla Walla Public Schools Donnetta Elsasser
509-526-2052
delsasser@wwps.org
Bainbridge Island Amanda Ward
206-780-1280
amward@bisd303.org
Richland Steven Perez
509-967-6501
steve.perez@rsd.edu
Walla Walla Public Schools William Plucker
509-527-3020
bplucker@wwps.org
Selkirk Beth Dunbar
509-446-3505
bdunbar@selkirkschools.org

K-12 School

District Name/Title Contact Info
Mead Trish Henry
K-12 EdTech and Media Specialist
509-465-6016
trish.henry@mead354.org
Bellevue Tara Gray
Principal
425-456-6500
grayt@bsd405.org
Marysville Steven Cross
360-965-2420
steven_cross@msd25.org
Evergreen (Clark) Ryan Theodoriches
Central Office
360-604-4089
ryan.theodoriches@evergreenps.org
Stevenson-Carson Suz Clark-Bennett
Associate Principal
509-427-5631 x1740
clark-bennetts@scsd.k12.wa.us

Middle School

District Name/Title Contact Info
Shelton Elizabeth Johnston
360-462-6671
ejohnston@sheltonschools.org
Yelm Jerry Price
360-458-1100
jerry_price@ycs.wednet.edu
Puyallup Ronald Baltazar
253-841-8756
baltazra@puyallup.k12.wa.us
Peninsula Barbara Vukas
253-530-1900
vukasb@psd401.net
Walla Walla Public Schools Brad Ludwig
509-527-3050
bludwig@wwps.org
Longview Amy Johnson
360-577-2700
ajohnson@longview.k12.wa.us
Ocean Beach Kelly Jacobsen
360-642-1234
kelly.jacobsen@oceanbeachschools.org
Pullman Amy Ripley
425-346-2196
aripley@psd267.org
Quincy Jonathan Barker
509-787-4435
jbarker@qsd.wednet.edu
Central Valley Eric Roal
509-558-4700
eroal@cvsd.org