RESTRICTED PUBLIC ACCESS TO OSPI BUILDING

In accordance with the Governor’s Proclamation 20-25, “Stay Home, Stay Healthy,” and to protect the health and safety of Washingtonians and our employees, at this time, there is restricted public access to the OSPI building. OSPI will continue serving the public via phone, email, and the website.

See OSPI’s COVID-19 guidance and resources for educators, students, and families.

  • Facebook
  • OSPI on Twitter
  • OSPI Medium
  • OSPI LinkedIn
  • OSPI YouTube
  • OSPI on Flickr
  • Subscribe to OSPI GovDelivery

You are here

Home » Student Success » Health & Safety » School Safety » School Safety Resource Library » School-Based Threat Assessment

School-Based Threat Assessment

Contact Information

Ella DeVerse
Program Supervisor
360-725-6031
ella.deverse@k12.wa.us.

Under HB 1216 and RCW 28A.320.123, all LEAs are required to have School-Based Threat Assessment Programs and teams in place by the 2020/2021 school year. To assist in this work, Regional School Safety Centers have been established in the nine ESDs to provide training and technical assistance for the implementation of these programs. 

To meet the requirements under HB 1216, all nine ESDs have adopted and implemented the Salem-Keizer Threat Assessment Model, a preventative, multi-agency/multi-disciplinary, trauma informed protocol constructed with an equity lens to provide assessment protocols and safety planning procedures that are coordinated by a unique collaborative team made up of school, law enforcement, community mental health, courts, and juvenile justice. 

The assessment conducted by the School-Based Threat Assessment team may lead to a specific plan for supervision; development of an individual accountability plan; linkage to social-skill building programs and other support systems in the community such as faith communities, mental health services, alcohol/drug evaluation and mentoring programs; and implementation of a safety plan for any intended targets.  In addition, the plan may include family/home options such as increased supervision of social media use, safety-proofing the home and removing weapons, and increasing supervision in the home. The model also reduces over-reactive responses by schools with Zero-Tolerance policies which lead to exclusionary discipline for students who are in need of support and do not pose a viable threat. 

Accurate implementation of threat assessment programs in schools helps to increase supports for students in need and emphasizes a supportive and healthy school climate providing a platform for students to reach out when a problem or concern exists and create a safer atmosphere for students and staff alike.

Policy & Procedure

Educational Service Districts (ESDs)

For information about Threat Assessment in your area or available trainings, please contact the Threat Assessment Coordinator in your ESD.

ESD Location ESD Contact Phone Number Email
Northeast ESD 101  Spokane Leon Covington (509) 789-3609 lcovington@esd101.net
Northeast ESD 101  Spokane

Alise Mnati

(509) 323-2786

amnati@esd101.net

ESD 105 

Yakima

Shawn Bender

(509) 454-2489

shawn.bender@esd105.org

ESD 105 

Yakima

Chris Weedin

(509) 853-2047

chris.weedin@esd105.org

ESD 112

Vancouver

Adam Scattergood

(360) 952-3399

adam.scattergood@esd112.org

ESD 112

Vancouver

Denise Dishongh

(360) 952-3644

denise.dishongh@esd112.org

ESD 112

Vancouver

Don Lawry

(360) 953-3336

don.lawry@esd112.org

Capital Region ESD 113

Tumwater

Dan Beaudoin

(360) 462-2503

dbeaudoin@esd113.org

Capital Region ESD 113 Tumwater

Erin Wick

(360) 464-6849

eriffe@esd113.org

Olympic ESD 114

Bremerton

Kristin Schutte

(360) 405-6849

schuttek@oesd114.org

Olympic ESD 114 Bremerton

Malorie Woods

(360) 478-6891

mwoods@oesd114.org

Puget Sound ESD 121

Renton

Kim Beeson

(425) 917-7821

Kbeeson@psesd.org

ESD 123

Pasco 

Shelby Jensen

(509) 316-6774

sjensen@esd123.org

ESD 123

Pasco

DeLeon Gause

(509) 316-1314

dgause@esd123.org

North Central ESD 171

Wenatchee

Shelley Seslar

(509) 665-2631

shelleys@ncesd.org

Northwest ESD 189

Anacortes

Erin Wood

(360) 299-4017

ewood@nwesd.org

Northwest ESD 189

Anacortes

Starleen Maharaj-Lewis

N/A

smaharajlewis@nwesd.org

  • RCW 9A.04.110-Definition of "Threat"
  • RCW 9A.46-Harassment
  • RCW 13.04.155-Notification to school principal of conviction, adjudication, or diversion agreement: Provision of information to teachers and other personnel -- Confidentiality.
  • RCW 28A.225.330-Enrolling students from other districts, requests for information and permanent record, withheld transcripts, effect immunity from liability, notification to teachers and security personnel, and rules.
  • RCW 13.40.215-Juveniles found to have committed violent or sex offense or stalking, notification of discharge, parole, leave, release, transfer, or escape: To whom given, school attendance, definitions.
  • RCW 9.41.280-Possessing dangerous weapons on school facilities, penalty, exceptions.