Secondary Education
Check and Connect logo

A Comprehensive Student Engagement Intervention


Check & Connect, an evidence-based program out of the University of Minnesota, is a comprehensive tier 2 intervention designed to engage family, student, and school staff in supporting engagement and learning for students in grades K–12. Check and Connect mentors help students engage in school by:

  • Checking on students, assessing their engagement with school and learning through close monitoring of their attendance, behavior, and grades; and
  • Connecting with students, offering individualized intervention in partnership with school personnel, families, and community service providers.

Check & Connect is an evidence-based practice that is most successful when used as part of a multi-tiered system of support (MTSS) such as Positive Behavior Intervention & Supports (PBIS) or Response to Intervention (RTI). Please contact one of the trainers* if you are interested in implementing Check and Connect or are interested in a refresher training.


OSPI Supports a Host of Check & Connect Trainers
Trainer Organization E-mail
Pamila Gant Mentoring Works WA pgant@mentoringworkswa.org
Shelley Seslar North Central Education Service District 171 shelleys@ncesd.org
Tricia Hagerty

Independent PBIS Trainer/District Implementation Specialist

tricia.hagerty1@gmail.com
Lori Lynass Sound Supports lynassl@gmail.com
Christian Madruga
Danielle Wilson
Treehouse christian@treehouseforkids.org
daniellew@treehouseforkids.org
Hillary Conville Auburn School District hconville@auburn.wednet.edu

* OSPI supports the ongoing certification of the trainers, which is monitored and provided by the University of Minnesota. The fees charged by trainers covers their time and materials.

 

   Updated 6/13/2017

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA  98504-7200  360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    A-Z Index    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Education Data System (EDS)