Quality Education Council - Members
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image

  For more information
   about the QEC:



Quality Education Council (QEC)


QEC members include four state representatives and four state senators (with equal representation among Democrats and Republicans). In addition, council members include one representative each from the Office of the Governor, the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction, the State Board of Education, the Director of the Department of Early Learning, the Office of the Governor, the State Board of Education, the Professional Educator Standards Board and the Educational Opportunity Gap Oversight and Accountability Committee.

  • Supt. Randy Dorn, Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Barbara Taylor, Chair, Professional Educator Standards Board
  • Dr. Bette Hyde, Director, Department of Early Learning
  • Marcie Maxwell, Senior Education Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor
  • Stacy Gillett, Educational Opportunity Gap Oversight and Accountability Committee
  • Rep.Dick Muri, State Representative, 28th District (R)
  • Rep. Chad Magendanz, State Representative, 5th Legislative District (R)
  • Rep. Kathy Haigh, State Representative, 35th District (D)
  • Rep. Kristine Lytton, State Representative, 40th District, (D)
  • Sen. Bruce Dammeier, State Senator, 25th District (R)
  • Sen. Christine Rolfes, State Senator, 23rd District (D)
  • Sen. Rosemary McAuliffe, State Senator, 1st District (D)
  • Sen. Andy Hill, State Senator, 45th District (R)

Meeting agendas and materials are posted regularly.


Executive Committee


   Updated 6/11/2014

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA    98504-7200    360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Privacy Policy