Social Studies

Washington State Social Studies Cadre of Educators

The Social Studies Cadre, established in 2010, consists of 35-40 educators (a minimum of three per ESD) who have both teaching experience and expertise in social studies education. The Cadre serves as a social studies teaching and advisory team for the state.

Philosophical Foundation
The Washington State Social Studies Cadre believes in the power of social studies to enrich student learning across disciplines and inspire lifelong civic-mindedness.

Purpose and Practices
The Cadre reviews and revises social studies resources and materials, specifically focusing on:

  • Washington State Social Studies Learning Standards: the Essential Academic Learning Requirements (EALRs) and Grade Level Expectations (GLEs);
  • OSPI-Developed Assessments (also known as Classroom-Based Assessments); and
  • College, Career, and Civic Life (C3) Framework and Six Proven Practices for Enhancing Civic Education.

The Cadre delivers workshops at statewide conferences and through local or regional trainings for teachers that specifically target:

  • Washington State K-12 Social Studies Learning Standards;
  • OSPI-Developed Assessments; and
  • College, Career, and Civic Life (C3) Framework and Six Proven Practices for Enhancing Civic Education.

Note: OSPI does not compensate Cadre members for trainings other than those arranged by OSPI for statewide professional development. If Cadre members receive training requests from individual school districts or from regional partners, it is the responsibility of Cadre members and their schools or districts to negotiate these requests. If ESDs or individual districts request training support from Cadre members, they will be expected to negotiate compensation of the Cadre member for expenses such as preparation time, substitute coverage, mileage, meals, lodging, and materials costs.

Click on map to view regional contacts

Elementary

Middle

High

K-12

Debbie Blodgett-Goins
Yakima School District
blodgett-goins.debbie@yakimaschools.org
509-985-8462

Jean Tobin
Walla Walla School District
jtobin@wwps.org
509-527-3077

John Mumma
Mount Baker School District
JMumma@mtbaker.wednet.edu
360-383-2050

Julie Conkle
Tonasket School District
jconkle@tonasket.wednet.edu
509-486-4933

Katharine Smith
Medical Lake School District
ksmith@mlsd.org
509-565-3611

Katie Heary
Yakima School District
heary.katie@yakimaschools.org
509-573-5900

Mary Schuldheisz
Vancouver Public Schools
mschuldheisz@cu-portland.edu
360-313-3000

Mary Ziegert
North Thurston School District
mziegert@nthurston.k12.wa.us
360-412-4670

Nancy Lenihan
Sumner School District
nancy_lenihan@sumnersd.org
253-891-4500

Nathalie Maynock
Sequim School District
nmaynock@sequimschools.org 
360-582-3300

Amy Johnson
Longview School District
ajohnson@longview.k12.wa.us
360-577-2700

Amy Ripley
Pullman School District
aripley@psd267.org
425-346-2196

Barbara Vukas
Peninsula School District
vukasb@psd401.net
253-530-1900

Brad Ludwig
Walla Walla School District
bludwig@wwps.org
509-527-3050

Elizabeth Johnston
Shelton School District
ejohnston@sheltonschools.org
360-462-6671

Eric Roal
Central Valley School District
eroal@cvsd.org
509-558-4700

Jerry Price
Yelm School District
jerry_price@ycs.wednet.edu
360-458-1100

Jonathan Barker
Quincy School District
jbarker@qsd.wednet.edu
509-787-4435

Kelly Jacobsen
Ocean Beach School District
kelly.jacobsen@oceanbeachschools.org
360-642-1234

Ronald Baltazar
Puyallup School District
baltazra@puyallup.k12.wa.us
253-841-8756

Amanda Ward
Bainbridge Island School District
amward@bisd303.org
206-780-1280

Beth Dunbar
Selkirk School District
bdunbar@selkirkschools.org
509-446-3505

Bryan Dibble
Selah School District
bryandibble@selahschools.org
509-698-8350

Chris Perkins
Ferndale School District
christopher.perkins@ferndalesd.org
360-383-9289

Donnetta Elsasser
Walla Walla School District
delsasser@wwps.org
509-526-2052

Eric Holmkvist
Rochester School District
eholmkvist@rochester.wednet.edu
360-273-5534

Meghan Rubman
North Kitsap School District
mrubman@nkschools.org
360-394-8549

Melissa Webster
Everett School District
mwebster@everettsd.org
425-385-6177

Steven Perez
Richland School District
steve.perez@rsd.edu
509-967-6501

Sue Metzler
Mukilteo School District
metzlersm@mukilteo.wednet.edu
425-366-5700

William Plucker
Walla Walla School District
bplucker@wwps.org
509-527-3020

Ryan Theodoriches
Evergreen Public Schools
ryan.theodoriches@evergreenps.org
360-604-4089
Central Office

Steven Cross
Marysville School District
steven_cross@msd25.org 
360-965-2420

Suz Clark-Bennett
Stevenson-Carson School District
clark-bennetts@scsd.k12.wa.us
509-427-5631 x1740
Associate Principal

Tara Gray
Bellevue School District
grayt@bsd405.org
425-456-6500
Principal

Trish Henry
Mead School District
trish.henry@mead354.org
509-465-6016
K-12 EdTech and Media
Specialist

 

 

   Updated 10/1/2018

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA    98504-7200    360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Privacy Policy