Washington State Social Studies Cadre of Trainers
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image
Search
 



If you have further questions
about Social Studies education, contact:

Carol Coe, Social Studies
Program Supervisor
carol.coe@k12.wa.us
360-725-6351

 

Social Studies

Washington State Social Studies Cadre of Educators

The Social Studies Cadre, established in 2010, consists of approximately 35 educators (a minimum of three per ESD) who have both teaching experience and expertise in social studies education.

Purpose
The Cadre reviews and revises statewide social studies resources and materials, specifically focusing on:

  • Washington State Social Studies Learning Standards: the Essential Academic Learning Requirements (EALRs) and Grade Level Expectations (GLEs);
  • College, Career, and Civic Life (C3) Framework and Six Proven Practices for Enhancing Civic Learning;
  • OSPI-developed classroom-based assessments; and
  • Intentional connections with the Common Core State Standards for Literacy in History/Social Studies.

The Cadre delivers workshops at statewide conferences and through local or regional trainings for teachers. These workshops address the Washington State K-12 Social Studies Learning Standards; the College, Career, and Civic Life (C3) Framework; Six Proven Practices for Enhancing Civic Learning; and the OSPI-developed Social Studies Assessments.

Note: OSPI does not compensate Cadre members for trainings other than those arranged by OSPI for statewide professional development. If Cadre members receive training requests from individual school districts or from regional partners, it is the responsibility of Cadre members and their schools or districts to negotiate these requests. If ESDs or individual districts request training support from Cadre members, they will be expected to negotiate compensation of the Cadre member for expenses such as preparation time, substitute coverage, mileage, meals, lodging, and materials costs.

Click on map to view regional contacts

Elementary

Middle

High

K-12

Barry Hoonan
Bainbridge Island School District
bhoonan@bisd303.org
206- 419-4510

Debbie Blodgett-Goins
Yakima School District
blodgett-goins.debbie@yakimaschools.org
509-985-8462

Jean Tobin
Walla Walla School District
jtobin@wwps.org 509-527-3077

Julie Conkle
Tonasket School District
jconkle@tonasket.wednet.edu
509-486-4933

Karen Morley-Smith
Evergreen Public Schools
karen.morleysmith@evergreenps.org
360-604-6900

Mary Ziegert
North Thurston School District
mziegert@nthurston.k12.wa.us
360-412-4670

Nancy Lenihan
Sumner School District
nancy_lenihan@sumner.wednet.edu
253-) 891-4500

Robin Placzek
Mead School District
robin.placzek@mead354.org
509-465-6162

Tricia Billes
Sequim School District
tbilles@sequim.k12.wa.us
360-582-3600

Wyndi Anderson
Port Angeles School District
wanderson@portanglesschools.org
360-461-1159

Amy Johnson
Longview School District
ajohnson@longview.k12.wa.us
360-577-2700

Ben Suhrbier
Winlock School District
mailto:bsuhrbier@winlock.wednet.edu
360-785-3046 ex. 2193

Brad Ludwig
Walla Walla School District
bludwig@wwps.org
509-527-3050

Bryan Dibble
Selah School District
bryandibble@selah.k12.wa.us
509-697-0500

Dawn Wood
Wenatchee School District
wood.d@wenatcheeschools.org
509-663-7171

Eric Roal
Central Valley School District
eroal@cvsd.org
509-228-4700

Jerry Price
Yelm School District
jerry_price@ycs.wednet.edu
360-458-1100

Kelly Jacobsen
Ocean Beach School District
kelly.jacobsen@oceanbeachschools.org
360-642-1234

Ronald Baltazar
Puyallup School District
baltazra@puyallup.k12.wa.us
253-) 841-8756

Shannon Lowrie
North Mason School District
slowrie@northmasonschools.org
360-277-2215

Steven Cross
Marysville School District
steven_cross@msvl.k12.wa.us
360-653-0850

Tim Kilgren
Union Gap School District
tkilgren@uniongap.org
509-248-3966

Beth Dunbar
Selkirk School District
bdunbar@selkirk.k12.wa.us
509-446-3505

Carolyn (Suz) Clark-Bennett
Stevenson-Carson School District
clark-bennetts@scsd.k12.wa.us
509-427-5631 x1630

Eric Low
Winlock School District
Elow@winlock.wednet.edu
360-785-3537

Leslie Brown
Toppenish School District
lbrown@toppenish.wednet.edu
509-865-1119

Meghan Rubman
North Kitsap School District
meghan.rubman@gmail.com
360-394-8549

Melissa Finn
Kent School District
melissa.finn@kent.k12.wa.us
253-) 373-4703

Steven Perez
Richland School District
steve.perez@rsd.edu
509-967-6500

Sue Metzler
Mukilteo School District
metzlersm@mukilteo.wednet.edu
425- 356-1700

Donnetta Elsasser
Touchet School District
elsasd@touchet.org
509-394-2352

Molly Berger
ESD 105
molly.berger@esd105.org
509-454-3114
Instructional Improvement
Coordinator

Ryan Theodoriches
Evergreen Public Schools
ryan.theodoriches@evergreenps.org
360-604-4000
Central Office

Tara Gray
Bellevue School District
grayt@bsd405.org
425- 456-5800
Principal

Trish Henry
Mead School District
trish.henry@mead354.org
509-710-6770
K-12 EdTech and Media
Specialist

Victoria Mayers
Nooksack Tribal Program
vmayers@nooksack-nsn.gov
360-966-7704

William (Bill) Reese
Spokane School District
billr@spokaneschools.org
509-354-5974
Social Studies Coordinator

 

 

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA  98504-7200  360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    A-Z Index    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Education Data System (EDS)