School Facilities

Planning Partners and Planning Team

To develop a Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan, OSPI will collaborate with a statewide planning team of education stakeholders, and partner with 25-35 school districts that have volunteered to play an active role developing their own district specific mitigation plans.

The grant was received by OSPI in March 2012 and will be worked on over the next two to three years.

+ School Districts and Planning Partner

Description of the partners, with bulleted list of who is involved in alphabetical order

  • Aberdeen
  • Arlington
  • Brewster
  • Carbonado
  • Chehalis
  • Concrete
  • Everett
  • Evergreen
  • Hockinson
  • Mercer Island
  • North Mason
  • North Thurston
  • Ocosta
  • Orcas Island
  • Oroville
  • Port Angeles
  • Quillayute Valley
  • Shelton
  • Shoreline
  • Snohomish
  • South Whidbey
  • Steilacoom Hist
  • Sumner
  • Toledo
  • Tumwater
  • Wenatchee
  • Woodland
  • Yelm

+ Planning Team

  • Bruce Kuennen, Washington Association of Sheriff's and Police Chiefs
  • John Mortenson, Washington State School Directors' Association
  • Eric Dickson, Educational Service District 101
  • Eric Meng, Meng Analysis
  • Marina Tanay, Washington Association of School Business Officials
  • Sarah Hoover, Washington School Risk Management Pool
  • Paula Akerlund, Ocosta School District
  • Rob Van Slyke, Washington Association of School Administrators
  • Tom Bates, BLRB Arch., OSPI Citizens Advisory Panel member

What’s New

Watch TVW's The Impact interview with Robert Dengel regarding OSPI's Hazard Mitigation Plan, and the tsunami evacuation shelter being built at Ocosta Elementary School.

Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan
Download the Pre-Disaster Mitigation Plan, released on November 20, 2014.

Navigate this Site:

Natural Hazards in Washington

   Updated 3/24/2015

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA    98504-7200    360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Privacy Policy