Educator Awards
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image

  For more information
  about Education Awards:

  Hilary Seidel



Education Awards

Title I Distinguished Schools Award Program — National and State

Six Title I, Part A schools are recipients of the 2017-2018 Title I, Part A Distinguished Schools Award. Two schools were selected for national recognition and three schools were selected for state recognition.

Due to the reauthorization of Title I, Part A under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), there are limited funds available for Title I Distinguished Schools Awards for the 2017–18 school year. OSPI requested and received a waiver to use existing funds to provide awards for the 2017–18 school year, which required that awards be provided before the end of 2017. The program is expected to continue as scheduled in 2018–19.

2017-18 Title I, Part A Distinguished Schools Recipients

National Distinguished Schools

Evergreen Elementary
Bethel School District
Jamie Burnett, Principal
Significant Progress in Closing Achievement Gap-ELA/Mathematics

Drum Intermediate
University Place School District
Maile Carr, Principal
Exceptional Student Progress-ELA/Mathematics

State Distinguished Schools

Leonard Jennings Elementary
Colfax School District
Travis Howell, Principal
Exceptional Student Progress-ELA/Mathematics

Garfield Elementary
Garfield School District
Zane Wells, Principal
Exceptional Student Progress-ELA/Mathematics

South Ridge Elementary
Ridgefield School District
Todd Graves, Principal
Exceptional Student Progress-ELA/Mathematics

Briarcrest Elementary
Shoreline Public Schools
Jonathan Nessan, Principal
Significant Progress in Closing Achievement Gap-ELA/Mathematics

Distinguished Schools Program Criteria

Schools chosen showed that they effectively used strategies in ELA and/or math which either

  • Category 1: Exceptional student performance for 2 or more years.
  • Category 2: Made significant progress towards closing the achievement gap between student groups. Or;
  • Category 3: Excellence in serving special populations of students.

Eligibility was based on Smarter Balanced Assessment for 2015 & 2016, based on student growth percentiles (SGP) and state average scores.

National winners will receive $10,000 and statewide recognition, and national winners will be honored at the 2017 National Title I, Part A Conference in Long Beach, CA Feb. 22–25, 2017. Statewide winners will receive $5,000 and statewide recognition.

Previous Winners

View Award Winners 2003 to 2017


Contact Larry Fazzari

   Updated 3/29/2018

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA    98504-7200    360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Privacy Policy