Press Releases - OSPI
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image

 For media inquiries,
 please contact:


   Twitter   Facebook    Email me Email


OSPI Announces Award-Winning CTE Students

OLYMPIA — February 11, 2016 — The Career and College Readiness department at the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) today announced the students selected as the Washington Scholars in Career and Technical Education (CTE) and the winners of the Washington CTE Student Success Award.

More than 45 students across the state were nominated for these awards, representing the very best of CTE in Washington.

Washington Scholars in CTE

  • Haeley Johnston, Mountlake Terrace High School; nominated by Jennifer Smith
  • Madison Largey, Central Kitsap High School; nominated by James Adamson
  • Christina Lundy, Mountainview High School; nominated by Terri Karkau
  • Alyssa McGee, Sumner High School; nominated by Jessica Olaiya
  • Maggie Joe Uceny, Kittitas High School; nominated by Cheryl Uceny

These students will represent our state for the U.S. Presidential Scholars in CTE award. This is the first time CTE has been a recognized category for this award.

Washington CTE Students Success Award

  • Shayla Appling, Quincy High School; nominated by Elizabeth Graaff
  • Callie Bianco, Black Hills High School; nominated by Brenda Knowlton
  • Austin Brown, Todd Beamer High School; nominated by Patricia Ford
  • Josh Budig, Cedarcrest High School; nominated by Marc Hillestad
  • Brenda Casteneda, Wenatchee High School; nominated by Dale Blair
  • Joy Clark, Central Kitsap High School; nominated by James Adamson
  • Corrina Davis, Ferndale High School; nominated by Tony Torretta
  • Erica Ebe, Ferndale High School; nominated by Tom Diimmel
  • Jessica Guske, Lacrosse High School; nominated by Lisa Baser
  • Hailey Himelspach, Shadle Park High School; nominated by Erin Ruehl
  • Logan Jenny, Yelm High School; nominated by Teri Pablo
  • Brandon Maher, Kamiakin High School; nominated by Denise Senor
  • Luke Moore, Colton High School; nominated by Nathan Moore
  • Emilie Pederson, Glacier Peak High School; nominated by Tami Caraballo
  • Tanya Salas, Pasco High School; nominated by Deb Thurston
  • Carlos Cepeda, White River High School; nominated by Shelley Skinner
  • Nick Theil, Bonney Lake High School; nominated by Tricia Littlefield
  • Ethan Toth, Wenatchee High School; nominated by Doug Merrill

These students will also represent our state for the U.S. Presidential Scholars award.

Winners of the national award will be announced in June.


About OSPI
The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state. Led by State School Superintendent Randy Dorn, OSPI works with the state’s 295 school districts and nine educational service districts to administer basic education programs and implement education reform on behalf of more than one million public school students.

OSPI provides equal access to all programs and services without discrimination based on sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, honorably discharged veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, the presence of any sensory, mental, or physical disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal by a person with a disability. Questions and complaints of alleged discrimination should be directed to the Equity and Civil Rights Director at (360) 725-6162 or P.O. Box 47200, Olympia, WA 98504-7200.

Twitter | Facebook | Flickr

Kristen Jaudon
Communications Specialist
(360) 725-6032 |

Nathan Olson
Communications Manager
(360) 725-6015 |

The OSPI Communications Office serves as the central point of contact for local, regional and national media covering K-12 education issues.

Communications Manager
Nathan Olson
(360) 725-6015


   Updated 2/11/2016

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA    98504-7200    360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Privacy Policy