School Breakfast Program
LanguagesA-Z IndexPrinter Friendly Image
Search
 

 

Child Nutrition

School Breakfast Program

The School Breakfast Program (SBP) is a Child Nutrition Program funded by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and operates in the same manner as the National School Lunch Program (NSLP). Public or nonprofit private schools and residential child care institutions may participate in the SBP.

LEAs operating the SBP must meet the current meal pattern and nutrition standards and federal requirements to offer free or reduced price meals to eligible students.

Research demonstrates the importance of providing breakfast to children and youth. Children who eat a good breakfast perform better in school, have better attendance, and exhibit fewer behavior problems.

2018 Breakfast of Champions
The 2018 Breakfast of Champions Awards are here! Please fill out and submit your nomination forms to samantha.brueske@k12.wa.us on or before December 19, 2017.

Nomination Example from a 2017 Champion - Crescent School District

Promote and Grow the School Breakfast Program

Tools and Resources

Meal Pattern, Menus and Recipes

Research Supporting Breakfast and Educational Outcomes

School Nutrition Programs

Program Supervisor
Wendy Barkley, 360-725-6220
wendy.barkley@k12.wa.us

Administrative Support
Samantha Brueske, 360-725-6203
samantha.brueske@k12.wa.us

Program Specialists
Chuck Ziara, 360-725-6222
chuck.ziara@k12.wa.us

Debra Calhoun, 509-323-2751
debra.calhoun@k12.wa.us

Kari Lund, 425-776-2955
kari.lund@k12.wa.us

Katie Mettler, 425-917-7924
katie.mettler@k12.wa.us

Lisa Jekel, 360-725-4957
lisa.jekel@k12.wa.us

Pam Mahre, 509-575-2412 pam.mahre@k12.wa.us


NSLP Specialist Assigned Territories

 

   Updated 11/7/2017

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA  98504-7200  360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    A-Z Index    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Education Data System (EDS)